The Signal Box, taken sometime after the line was closed in 1964.
The Signal Box, taken sometime after the line was closed in 1964.

South Hylton Iron Works occupied the site alongside the railway later occupied by Foster’s Forge.

Parts of the original stonework are still evident. The Works was owned by Walton & Usher, later Ray & Usher. Thomas Usher is listed as an Iron Merchant in 1865. It has proved very difficult to discover the scope of products from this works but we do know that when the Durham to Sunderland railway was laid in 1851-2, most of the chairs and spikes were made at Hylton Iron Works. The later output was mainly forgings for the shipbuilding and engineering industries.